Hit or Miss series : Elf Cosmetics.


Hello!

(Greek version here)

I decided to start a new series of posts, showing off the hits and misses of each company.

Much or less, everyone have heard of ELF. (Eyes, lips, face). Personally, I have introduced it to all of my friends as well.

I own quite a lot of them, so I decided to start with it. (Nyx, Korres, Seventeen,Sleek, Jordana, are some to come…)

Most of the products are good-great-amazing, but there were also a  couple of fails, so ….

Let’s go..

Brushes:

Brushes in general is HIT! I don’t own many of them, but those I own are great. Value for money, and even more.

Kabuki brush (must be from the mineral line , I don’t remember) : I have tried a couple of more kabukis, this one is the best. not very hard, not very soft, its a HIT!

Studio line:

Powder Brush: one of ELF’s best seller. Its amazing. I use it for my mineral booster, and sometimes Blush. Defenately a HIT!

Stipple Brush: I haven’t used another stipple brush to be honest, but I tried and looks good for me. Probably HIT!

Angled Eyeliner Brush : I don’t know about others, but it doesn’t help me to apply eyeliner. I though would make it easier, not harder. MISS!

Eyeshadow C brush :  Does what it says.  A regular , good , brush. HIT!

Contour brush : Like it a lot. Easy to work with. HIT!

normal line:

Smudge brush:  A bit softer than it should, but good enough anyway. Borderline HIT!

Smudge eye brush (the one with the sponge) : I love it! Compared to other I own, defenately wins. stable, not big enough to make the sponge go, smooth enough to do what it has to do. HIT!

NAILS:

Elf nail polishes : Its amazing how good the quality is . And the staying power. It will sound crazy, but those colors stay longer

to MY nails (depends on the nail, always) than the OPI (but less than China Glaze).

The one with the gold shimmer, in reality is Fabulous. Defenately a HIT!

LIPS:

Regular lipsticks: I own a couple of them . Voodoo and Posh are my favorite. Good pigmentation, medium staying power, lovely colors.

For about 2 euros each, definately a HIT!

Matte lipstick :  Fruity taste, really Matte result, hydrating. HIT!

Luscious and Hypershine lipgloss: Good staying power, nice colors, sticky. Close to be a HIT!

Lip stains: Stays for a long time, natural result, lovely colors. HIT!

Studio Lip stains: Dries lips, not much of a stain. MISS!

 

FACE AND CHEEKS:

Studio Blushes: A bit light (great for me), medium pigmenation, smooth and nice colors to choose. HIT!

Mineral Booster: I love it , no matter what is really made to do.  Use it as a face powder, with or without foundation, make my skin matt and soft. Definately a HIT!

Bronzer (and highlighter): I use the bronzer from blush and bronzer compact duo instead, but this one is good, too. The highlighter is always in my bag . HIT!

EYE AREA:

Mineral eye primer: Not really different  from regular line. And more expensive. Accidentally a HIT!

Eye primer: Elf’s best seller? I like it, I have dry lids, so I don’t face oilyness problems . HIT!

Eye – liner pen: I own black, ash and brown. Ash is a MISS! Luckily, I gave it a second chance and bought black and brown. HIT!

Lengthening and defining mascara: One of the biggest fails. Does nothing to my eyelashes. I have it 3 months and dried already. A big old MISS!

Under eye concealer (and highlighter) : Medium coverage. Its supposed to be bigger, considering is for under eyes.highlighter is nice. Borderline MISS!

ALL OVER STICKS:

One is the colored one, one is a concealer, and on is a highlighter. Concealer is too dark for me , highlighter  and the colored one is nice 🙂

They smell great. HIT!, I’d say.

EYEBROWS:

Eyebrow kit: I love it. Dearly. I m almost finishing the dark one. I bought a medium one, also. Maybe the best ELF thingie. A must-have HIT!

Eyebrow lifter and filler: Its not as precise or great as the kit, but does the job. The concealer/ivory pencil on the one, is a must for under brow. HIT!

 

EYESHADOWS:

day to night beauty on the go pallete (discontinued?) :  I have only the one here. Some of their shadows are good, some not. Medium pigmenation, some chalky. I might use the blush for making my own cream blush. MISS! 

Flawless eyeshadow pallete: Good pigmentation, awyfull brush. HIT!

Compact – customised pallete (2 blushes – 2 eyeshadows): I love the eyeshadows, and the compact case. Good pigmentation, good amount of product. HIT! Blushes are nice as well, but the size doesn’t help to ”get” with your blush brush. MISS!

Duo eyeshadow: I have rarely used them. Didn’t like the color but its a nice product. Probably a MISS!

Cream eyeshadow: Dislike them. Very oily, and hard to get from there. MISS!

RANDOMS:

Concealer kit: Good pigmentation, ”must” concealer colors, a bit  hard to apply. Could be better. Hardly a HIT !

Blush and bronzer: A must have duo from all. Lovely colors – both. Definately a HIT!

Complexion perfection: I use them all together, to even my face discolorations. HIT!

Eyelash curler: Since I can’t get the SHU UEMURA lash curler in my hands, I won’t change this one. Great and super cheap. Must-have HIT!

Cream eyeliner: Good staying power, bright color. HIT!

Therapeutic conditionic balm: Delicious, really softens the lips but it melts too easy. Overall a HIT!

No photo available: 

(either because I don’t know where they are, or because I know where they are – garbage)

Cream eyeshadow :  I have ”dawn”  one and I love it. Doesn’t oil the eyes, longetivity (killed the word?). HIT!

Eye widener pencil: White is in fact pearl white, and you have to press it strongly. MISS!

Natural radiance blusher: Although a lovely blush, the packaging (the old one, with a slider cover) was awful. MISS for the packaging! I made it a cream blush with vazeline. The new packaging looks cool, though.

Tinted moisturizer and studio tinted moisturizer: Both can’t much my skin tone. Uneven apply to skin. MISS!

clarrifying pressed powder: Maybe my least favorite product ever. Chalky, bad colors, hard to even pick from there. MISS!

Brightening eye colors palette: Nothing compared to the flawless mini palletes. Small, and a bit chalky. MISS!

Eye transformer: usuless. MISS!

What’s your experience with Elf cosmetics? Do you have some favorites and some fails?

Do you liked my HIT and MISS list? Should I continue?

Lots of love

V.

3 thoughts on “Hit or Miss series : Elf Cosmetics.

  1. I am from South East Asia..Country of origin MALAYSIA:}..Wow Athens lovely,home of the Olympics:}…What are the popular brands in your country..In Malaysia,Korean costmetics,a lot of Korean cosmetics,Japanese and now since Sephora opened,yeah Urban Decay n I’ve seriously no idea what brands they carry….

  2. Great post! It must of taken for ever, but thank you for this overview. I always wanted to try out some products, but put it off because of all the mixed reviews and I was really interested in trying out the best of elf. Now I know what to go for 🙂

    • I m happy to hear that I helped!
      Yeap, it took a while, but its worth it, isn’t it?
      I can’t say for sure that everything I loved is gonna be as good for the rest, but I m pretty confident that you ll gonna love the brushes, the eyelash curler and the eyebrow thingies.

      Let me know if you finally order and what, 🙂

Leave a comment